Skip to main content

Phoenix Award Committee Records

Identifier: MS-0196

Scope and Contents

These records, which document the honoring of outstanding individuals in the field of glass science, production, and education, are divided into two series:

(1) Administrative Records, 1971-2019

(2) Award Ceremony Records, 1971-2016


  • 1971-2019


Language of Materials

Collection materials are in English.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for public research. Researchers must make an appointment to view this collection.

Conditions Governing Use

The Copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. The user agrees to defend, indemnify, and hold harmless the Corning Museum of Glass and the Rakow Research Library against all claims, demands, costs and expenses incurred by copyright infringement or any other legal or regulatory cause of action arising from the use of Library materials.

Biographical / Historical

The Phoenix Award Committee formed in 1971 when representatives of nineteen major suppliers to the glass industry met to form an association to recognize individuals for excellence in their contributions to the field of glass. Burt Gussow, then publisher of _The Glass Industry_ magazine, led the formation of the committee. Committee members serve as individuals, not representatives of corporations, but must be employed by a company which is a supplier to the glass manufacturing industry.

Since 1971, awards have been made annually to living individuals with noteworthy work in glass science, production, or education. Each Phoenix Award winner receives a Steuben crystal phoenix bird, standing on a glass flame, and mounted on a wooden pedestal. The award is conferred at a formal dinner, accompanied by a press release and publicity in local and international media, as well as in glass industry publications.


5.5 Linear Feet (3 half records cartons, 2 Hollinger boxes and 1 large roll box)

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Received from the Phoenix Committee, 2017 Accessions 2015.002, 2017.003, 2018.002, 2018.009, 2019.002, 2019.011, 2020.002

Phoenix Award Committee Records, 1971-2019
A Guide to the Records
Mary Anne Hamblen, Sandra Glascock, and Colleen McFarland Rademaker
November 2015
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the The Rakow Research Library Manuscript Collection Repository

The Rakow Research Library
The Corning Museum of Glass
Five Museum Way
Corning NY 14830 USA