Skip to main content

Smithsonian Institution



  • Existence: 1846 (date of establishment)


The Smithsonian Institution, founded on August 10, 1846 "for the increase and diffusion of knowledge," comprises a group of museums and research centers administered as an independent federal trust instrumentality of the United States. Its nineteen museums and nine research centers are governed by a board of regents consisting of the Chief Justice of the United States, the Vice President of the United States, three members of the United States Senate, three members of the United States House of Representatives, and nine citizens.

In 1962, staff of the Smithsonian Institution joined with staff of The Corning Museum of Glass and the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation's archaeologist, Ivor Noël Hume, to participate in the excavation of the New Bremen Glass Manufactory, also known as the Amelung Glass Manufactory, near present-day Frederick, Maryland.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Amelung Excavation Records

Identifier: MS-0001
Scope and Contents These records comprise documents produced between 1962 and 1966, during excavation at the John Frederick Amelung glasshouse site in Maryland. They also include as well as more recent material, such as reports on the excavation and photographs of the excavation selected for exhibition. The records are arranged into five series: (1) Records of the Amelung Excavation, 1962-1966(2) Background Reseach Materials, Circa 1962-1963(3) Ivor Noël Hume's...
Dates: 1962-1976